NotebookcheckReviews
MSI Claw 8 review - Intel is king for handhelds?(!)
MSI Claw 8 AI+ model review. Companion to the Notebookcheck article.
Review unit provided by MSI.Watch on YouTube ↗Every published specification, grouped by category. Select a heading to collapse.
| Processor | Intel Core Ultra 7-258VSource & observationView specification source ↗Observed 2026-09-24T17:23:36.154705+00:00 exact MSI US store specification table |
|---|---|
| Graphics | Intel® Arc™ 140V GPUSource & observationView specification source ↗Observed 2026-09-24T17:23:36.154705+00:00 exact MSI US store specification table |
| Installed RAM | 32 GBSource & observationView specification source ↗Observed 2026-09-24T17:23:36.154705+00:00 exact MSI US store specification table |
|---|---|
| Total storage | 1 TBSource & observationView specification source ↗Observed 2026-09-24T17:23:36.154705+00:00 exact MSI US store specification table |
| Screen technology | Unpublished |
|---|---|
| Size | 8 inSource & observationView specification source ↗Observed 2026-09-24T17:23:36.154705+00:00 exact MSI US store specification table |
| Resolution | 1920x1200 pxSource & observationView specification source ↗Observed 2026-09-24T17:23:36.154705+00:00 exact MSI US store specification table |
| Refresh rate | 120 HzSource & observationView specification source ↗Observed 2026-09-24T17:23:36.154705+00:00 exact MSI US store specification table |
| Battery capacity | 80 WhSource & observationView specification source ↗Observed 2026-09-24T17:23:36.154705+00:00 exact MSI US store specification table |
|---|---|
| Power supply | 65W PD adapterSource & observationView specification source ↗Observed 2026-09-24T17:23:36.154705+00:00 exact MSI US store specification table |
| Ports | 2 x Type-C (USB / DP / Thunderbolt™ 4) with PD charging 1 x Micro SD Card ReaderSource & observationView specification source ↗Observed 2026-09-24T17:23:36.154705+00:00 exact MSI US store specification table |
|---|---|
| Wireless & networking | Killer WiFi 7 BE1750Source & observationView specification source ↗Observed 2026-09-24T17:23:36.154705+00:00 exact MSI US store specification table |
| Weight | 794 gSource & observationView specification source ↗Observed 2026-09-24T17:23:36.154705+00:00 exact MSI US store specification table |
|---|---|
| Dimensions | 11.77"x 4.96"x 0.94"Source & observationView specification source ↗Observed 2026-09-24T17:23:36.154705+00:00 exact MSI US store specification table |
| Operating system | Windows 11 HomeSource & observationView specification source ↗Observed 2026-09-24T17:23:36.154705+00:00 exact MSI US store specification table |
|---|---|
| Included bundle | Unpublished |
How long the game ran on battery. Brightness, game settings and power mode affect runtime.
Longer is betterHow long the game ran on battery. Brightness, game settings and power mode affect runtime.
Longer is betterRendering speed using all processor cores.
Higher is betterCompare tests with the same version and settings. Expand each test for the measured setup and limitations.
Published test results and reviewer comments.
16 measured results3 written reviews2 videos
Compare tests with the same version and settings.
Frames per second (fps) measure how many images a game shows each second. Higher usually feels smoother.
1920 × 1200 · Steam Deck preset · XeSS Balanced · Frame generation not reported
Reported fps · Multiplayer.it ↗
1920 × 1080 · Ultra preset · FSR off; other upscaling not reported · Frame generation not reported
Reported fps · Notebookcheck ↗
| Test | Result | Test conditions | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cyberpunk 2077 Steam Deck presetFrames shown each second. A higher average usually looks smoother, but does not show every slowdown.Higher is better | 33 fps | 1920 × 1200 · Steam Deck preset · XeSS Balanced · Frame generation not reported · Manual mode · 17 W power limit · 100% brightness · 120 Hz · Average · Firmware 2.11 · Graphics driver 32.01.101.6737 | Multiplayer.it ↗2025-05-22 |
| Cyberpunk 2077 Steam Deck presetFrames shown each second. A higher average usually looks smoother, but does not show every slowdown.Higher is better | 44 fps | 1920 × 1200 · Steam Deck preset · XeSS Balanced · Frame generation not reported · Manual mode · 30 W power limit · 100% brightness · 120 Hz · Average · Firmware 2.11 · Graphics driver 32.01.101.6737 | Multiplayer.it ↗2025-05-22 |
| Cyberpunk 2077 UltraFrames shown each second. A higher average usually looks smoother, but does not show every slowdown.Higher is better | 28.5 fps | 1920 × 1080 · Ultra preset · FSR off; other upscaling not reported · Frame generation not reported · Manual mode · 30 W power limit · Average · Graphics driver 32.0.101.6449 | Notebookcheck ↗2025-03-06 |
Time needed to render a scene with the processor. Compared with 5 reviewed handhelds and small portable PCs.
Middle of these 5: 385 s
Published power modes vary. This small set does not describe the whole market. Notebookcheck comparison ↗
Rendering speed using all processor cores. Compared with 5 reviewed handhelds and small portable PCs.
Middle of these 5: 14,463 points
Published power modes vary. This small set does not describe the whole market. Notebookcheck comparison ↗
| Test | Result | Test conditions | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cinebench 2024 multi coreRendering speed using all processor cores.Higher is better | 600 points | Manual mode · 30 W power limit · Firmware 2.11 · Graphics driver 32.01.101.6737 | Multiplayer.it ↗2025-05-22 |
| Cinebench 2024 single coreRendering speed using one processor core.Higher is better | 122 points | Manual mode · 30 W power limit · Firmware 2.11 · Graphics driver 32.01.101.6737 | Multiplayer.it ↗2025-05-22 |
| Blender 3.3 Classroom CPUTime needed to render a scene with the processor.Lower is faster | 546 s | Manual mode · 30 W power limit · Graphics driver 32.0.101.6449 | Notebookcheck ↗2025-03-06 |
| Cinebench R23 multi coreRendering speed using all processor cores.Higher is better | 10,599 points | Manual mode · 30 W power limit · Graphics driver 32.0.101.6449 | Notebookcheck ↗2025-03-06 |
| Cinebench 2024 multi coreRendering speed using all processor cores.Higher is better | 590 points | Manual mode · 30 W power limit · Graphics driver 32.0.101.6449 | Notebookcheck ↗2025-03-06 |
| Cinebench 2024 single coreRendering speed using one processor core.Higher is better | 120 points | Manual mode · 30 W power limit · Graphics driver 32.0.101.6449 | Notebookcheck ↗2025-03-06 |
Graphics performance in a fixed DirectX 12 test, measured in points. Compared with 5 reviewed handhelds and small portable PCs.
Middle of these 5: 3,196 points
Published power modes vary. This small set does not describe the whole market. Notebookcheck comparison ↗
| Test | Result | Test conditions | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Time Spy GraphicsGraphics performance in a fixed DirectX 12 test, measured in points.Higher is better | 4,118 points | 2560 × 1440 · Manual mode · 30 W power limit · Graphics driver 32.0.101.6449 | Notebookcheck ↗2025-03-06 |
| Test | Result | Test conditions | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cyberpunk gaming runtimeHow long the game ran on battery. Brightness, game settings and power mode affect runtime.Longer is better | 144 min | Manual mode · 30 W power limit · On battery · 100% brightness · 120 Hz · Firmware 2.11 | Multiplayer.it ↗2025-05-22 |
| Cyberpunk gaming runtimeHow long the game ran on battery. Brightness, game settings and power mode affect runtime.Longer is better | about 190 min | AI Engine dynamic mode · 17 W target (dynamic) · On battery · 100% brightness · 120 Hz · Firmware 2.11 | Multiplayer.it ↗2025-05-22 |
| Cyberpunk gaming runtimeHow long the game ran on battery. Brightness, game settings and power mode affect runtime.Longer is better | 105 min | Ultra preset · Manual mode · 30 W power limit · On battery · 150 nits brightness | Notebookcheck ↗2025-03-06 |
| Test | Result | Test conditions | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Load noise maximumSound level during the test. Compare readings taken at the same distance in a similar room.Lower is quieter | 41.4 dB(A) | Manual mode · 30 W power limit · Microphone 15 cm away · Room noise 24.7 dB(A) · Maximum · Graphics driver 32.0.101.6449 | Notebookcheck ↗2025-03-06 |
| Test | Result | Test conditions | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cinebench R15 multi burstProcessor rendering speed in the initial run.Higher is better | 1,574 points | Manual mode · 30 W power limit · Initial run · Graphics driver 32.0.101.6449 | Notebookcheck ↗2025-03-06 |
| Cinebench R15 multi loop meanAverage processor rendering speed across repeated runs.Higher is better | 1,491 points | Manual mode · 30 W power limit · Average across repeated runs · Graphics driver 32.0.101.6449 | Notebookcheck ↗2025-03-06 |
NotebookcheckReviews
MSI Claw 8 AI+ model review. Companion to the Notebookcheck article.
Review unit provided by MSI.Watch on YouTube ↗Retro Game Corps
MSI Claw 8 AI+ model review. Exact regional part number not confirmed.
Review unit provided by MSI.Watch on YouTube ↗Same 258V on-package 32GB/8533 assembly establishes performance-memory equivalence across regional SKUs. This does not establish panel or NIC equivalence.
Multiplayer.it: Firmware 2.11; driver 32.01.101.6737 as printed. Test date and sample origin unpublished.
Notebookcheck: Manufacturer-supplied sample. Storage table conflicts with introduction and official regional sheet; storage evidence quarantined.
PC Gamer: Review claims only. No numeric values extracted from interactive charts. Test date and sample origin unpublished.
Retro Game Corps: Model-level video review. Exact regional part number and unverified component details stay unknown. Review unit provided by MSI. No numeric observations or review-consensus claims imported.
An overall buying score is unavailable. The available measurements do not cover every aspect of the device.
Other handhelds in the catalog. No ranking is implied.
What reviewers say
Build and controls
Improved build; competitors feel better.
Multiplayer.it ↗Stable case and controls.
Notebookcheck ↗Good ergonomics; rivals feel more premium.
PC Gamer ↗Gaming
Strong tested gaming.
Multiplayer.it ↗Manual mode · 30 W power settingStrong handheld gaming.
Notebookcheck ↗Manual mode · 30 W power settingFast gaming with occasional driver quirks.
PC Gamer ↗Firmware 2025 review