Apple exact US retail SKU and matching family technical specifications
Connectivity▾
Ports
SDXC card slot · HDMI port · 3.5 mm headphone jack · MagSafe 3 port · Three Thunderbolt 5 (USB-C) ports with support for: · Charging · DisplayPort · Thunderbolt 5 (up to 120Gb/s) · USB 4 (up to 120Gb/s)Source & observationView specification source ↗
Observed 2026-09-27T01:16:05.550453+00:00
Apple exact US retail SKU and matching family technical specifications
Memory, cooling and operating system versions differ between these reviewed devices. This small set does not describe the whole market. Notebookcheck comparison ↗
Processor test results and sources
Test
Result
Test conditions
Source
Cinebench 2024 multi coreRendering speed using all processor cores.Higher is better
2,490 pointsOther configuration
Stock settings; named power mode not reported · Apple macOS 26 Tahoe
Reviewed setup: MacBook Pro 16-inch (M5 Max) · Apple M5 Max 18-core CPU · Apple M5 Max 40-core GPU · 48 GB RAM · 2000 GB storage · standard glass · Wi-Fi
Cinebench 2024 single coreRendering speed using one processor core.Higher is better
199 pointsOther configuration
Stock settings; named power mode not reported · Apple macOS 26 Tahoe
Reviewed setup: MacBook Pro 16-inch (M5 Max) · Apple M5 Max 18-core CPU · Apple M5 Max 40-core GPU · 48 GB RAM · 2000 GB storage · standard glass · Wi-Fi
Geekbench 6.7 multi coreSpeed on short tasks using several processor cores, such as compressing files and processing photos.Higher is better
30,057 pointsOther configuration
Stock settings; named power mode not reported · Apple macOS 26 Tahoe
Reviewed setup: MacBook Pro 16-inch (M5 Max) · Apple M5 Max 18-core CPU · Apple M5 Max 40-core GPU · 48 GB RAM · 2000 GB storage · standard glass · Wi-Fi
Geekbench 6.7 single coreSpeed on short tasks using one processor core, such as parts of web browsing and everyday apps.Higher is better
4,336 pointsOther configuration
Stock settings; named power mode not reported · Apple macOS 26 Tahoe
Reviewed setup: MacBook Pro 16-inch (M5 Max) · Apple M5 Max 18-core CPU · Apple M5 Max 40-core GPU · 48 GB RAM · 2000 GB storage · standard glass · Wi-Fi
Notebookcheck ↗2026-08-27MacBook Pro 16-inch (M5 Max) · Apple M5 Max 18-core CPU · Apple M5 Max 40-core GPU · 48 GB RAM · 2000 GB storage · standard glass · Wi-Fi
Watch the reviews
NotebookcheckReviews
The fastest laptops on the planet?! - All new 2026 MacBooks tested!
Comparison of the 13/15-inch M5 Air and 14/16-inch M5 Pro/Max laptops. The reviewed memory and chip options vary.
CPU/GPU-only tests do not depend on SSD capacity, colour or radio option. They do not establish battery life, storage speed or display quality.
Notebookcheck: Numbers refer to the reviewed setup. Storage, screen finish and cellular options do not establish CPU/GPU differences; memory and chip-bin differences remain separate.
Notebookcheck: Comparison of the 13/15-inch M5 Air and 14/16-inch M5 Pro/Max laptops. The reviewed memory and chip options vary.
gaming pilot
cpu
Reviewer comments
gpu
Not measured
gaming
Not measured
performance pilot
cpu
Reviewer comments
gpu
Not measured
gaming
Not measured
sustained
Not measured
whole device
cpu
Reviewer comments
gpu
Not measured
gaming
Not measured
sustained
Not measured
noise
Not measured
battery
Not measured
display
Not measured
build
Not measured
An overall buying score is unavailable. The available measurements do not cover every aspect of the device.
Compare Configurations
Other laptops in the catalog. No ranking is implied.